| Click on image titles for larger views. || |
Alumnae Auditorium is a large brick structure and a remnant of an earlier complex which partially burned. It has a low mansard roof with porthole dormers, a wide parapet encircling structure, brick pilasters, and triple double-leaf entrances with supports on a low brick balustrade.
In this grand old building today's great-grandmothers were once thrilled by Schumann-Heink, and their granddaughters and great-granddaughters enthralled by Van Cliburn. Sir Thomas Beecham, founder of the London Philharmonic Orchestra, lectured here and Metropolitan Opera concert star Irene Jordan sang in the auditorium as a Judson student.
Construction of the building began in 1902, and its picturesque carriage entrance was first used at commencement, 1904. The Judson catalog of the time announced: "The Alumnae Auditorium and Music Hall is one of the handsomest and best appointed buildings of its kind in the country. It is built of pressed brick, finished with natural wood, brilliantly lighted with electricity, heated and ventilated according to the most modern methods, seated with 1,100 high grade opera chairs, and has every modern convenience."
The huge crystal chandelier created a sensation at the opening. Wire racks for top hats are still beneath the original seats.