O. T. Mendenhall Administration Building
| Click on image titles for larger views. || |
The O.T. Mendenhall Administration Building, built in the Mediterranean style in 1928 as an Elks lodge hall, was acquired by the college in 1936 during the great depression, after the lodge was unable to make the payments on its mortgage and the property was foreclosed. It has a full basement, concrete foundations and is of reinforced concrete construction. It was donated under an annuity agreement by Lena May Mendenhall, widow of La Habra rancher O.T. Mendenhall, to memorialize her husband. Mrs. Mendenhall was no relation to the college's then-president, William O. Mendenhall, but the new college building was initially known as Menden Hall, because the president of the college did not want anyone to think that he had named the building, which included his own offices, for himself.
In the past, the facility has housed the college library and the public relations offices, as well as the development office. It currently houses the Center of Mexican American Affairs and the education department, as well as business offices, the office of the president of the college, the trustees' boardroom, other administrative offices, and the Mendenhall Art Gallery.
The large assembly room on the top floor, formerly the grand hall of the lodge, features stained glass windows and decoratively painted wood-beam ceilings. These distinctive ceilings are also present in the lobby, where display cases showcase sixteenth-century Chinese porcelain collected by Lou Henry Hoover (wife of U.S. President Herbert Hoover). Also in the lobby is a portrait of John Greenleaf Whittier, the most popular U.S. poet during the nineteenth century, a Quaker, and a leader in the movement to abolish slavery. The portrait hangs above a mantle inscribed with lines by Whittier that have often been cited as the inspiration for his namesake college's unending quest to educate young people:
Early hath Life's mighty question