John McMillan Hall
| Click on image titles for larger views. || |
From the National Register report:
The oldest of W&J buildings and a registered historic landmark, the stately McMillan Hall was constructed between 1793-1794. It is the 8th oldest college building in continual use in the United States and the oldest college building west of the Allegheny Mountains.
The original center section, a two-story building with dimensions of 35 by 30 feet, was built in 1793 in a country-style adaptation of domestic Georgian architecture. Brick two-story wings were added in 1816. Further additions are in the Greek Revival style. According to the National Register report of 1972, "the style defies exact description. It achieves its unique quality and charm from the fact that vernacular builders selectively borrowed Georgian, Roman Classical, Adamesque, and other European Renaissance architectural forms, elements, and details and combined them in the builder's own esoteric way [It] is basically a late Georgian masonry building, but of greater importance is the fact that it is a unique variation of a Western Pennsylvania stone building, and must be counted among the most interesting architectural remains in the district. In the latter sense, it is irreplaceable on a regional or national level."
In 1903, the building was moved back 40 feet from the original foundation and placed on a new foundation in its present location to allow construction of the Thompson Memorial Library. At present the first floor is decorated with handcrafted furnishings and paintings by the renowned American artist Wallace Nutting, who was awarded an honorary degree by W&J in 1935. These gifts were presented by Mrs. Nutting in memory of her husband in 1943. The building also contains heirlooms of the McMillan family brought to the region from Ireland in the late eighteenth century. The President's Office is located on the second floor. The Office of Alumni Relations and the Office of Development occupy the remainder of the building.