| Click on image titles for larger views. || |
DeLaRoche Hall was originally built as the College Building in 1900. Damaged by fire in 1908, it was rebuilt immediately as Lynch Hall, and served until 1933 as classroom, administrative, and friary space. In 1933 the building was again severely damaged by fire. It was rebuilt of fire resistant materials under the direction of noted Buffalo architect Chester Oakley. Together with surrounding buildings of the old campus, Oakley created a unique environment of highly decorated brick and tile buildings reminiscent of Florentine architecture. This campus creates a tangible link between the University and its intellectual roots in the Italy of St. Francis and St. Bonaventure. Terracotta ornamentation over the main entrance includes references to the local oil industry founded upon the discovery of oil by the Franciscan Fr. DeLaRoche.