Original college building
| Click on image titles for larger views. || |
The original College building was put up by local craftsmen in 1890 over a period of just a few weeks. It is a modest vernacular structure set in a green space much used by residents of nearby adjoining facilities. The building's significance lies in its relationship to the founding of Asbury College and the culmination of the life work of its founder, John Wesley Hughes. Asbury was the first non-denominational Christian college in the U.S. to be dedicated to the doctrine and experience of Wesleyan "holiness." An early trustee, L. L. Pickett, called it the "first distinctive holiness college." Over the years Asbury has been a leading center for the production of well-trained and dedicated educators, pastors, social workers, Salvation Army officers (the leading institution in the U.S. in that regard), and missionaries.
The original Asbury building was built on another site and moved onto the present campus after the Alumni purchased and rebuilt it in 1932. The buildings along Macklem Drive were designed and built to a pattern design to complement one another. Other buildings were simply placed in convenient places on campus. The College has had a master plan for over a decade.
This "embryo of Asbury College" opened September 2, 1890; there were three teachers and eleven students. Cost of the original six-acre tract and this building was $1,500, raised by local subscription.