Chapman Residence Hall
| Click on image titles for larger views. || |
The building is a total of 46,000 square feet on five floors with a 45,905 square foot interior and a 173 by 60 foot exterior. Major renovation in 2000-2001 included thermal windows, electrical and plumbing systems, shower, restroom, and laundry facilities on each floor.
There are 100 rooms for men's housing. Five central larger rooms on each floor house three students, others two. The ground floor has been converted to classrooms and a lounge area.
This was the principal residence hall on campus when Olivet moved here in 1940. Initially, some floors were used for women's housing, and one or two other separated floors housed men students. After other residence halls were built on campus in 1951, 1959 and later, this building became for male students only, principally freshmen.
The building is named in honor of the late Dr. James B. Chapman, a pastor, writer, editor, and educator who was elected to serve as a general superintendent of the Church of the Nazarene from 1928-1947. While Olivet acquired this building in 1940, its name was not chosen until 1950.
The building has a comparable Greek Revival style to Burke Administration Building, which was also erected by St. Viator College in 1906. The original irregular surface of locally hewn limestone blocks is very picturesque.