| Click on image titles for larger views. || |
Stuyvesant Hall was completed in 1931 on West William Street as a women's dormitory thanks to a gift from Mr. and Mrs. Frank Stuyvesant of Lakewood, Ohio, whose interest in Ohio Wesleyan was sparked by their neighbors Mr. & Mrs. Erwin G. Guthery and daughter, Katherine Guthery (class of 1925). Construction was proposed in 1929, but the death of Frank Stuyvesant in February of 1930 postponed the ground breaking for several months. Mrs. Stuyvesant continued with the building and included a carillon of chimes in the tower in memory of her late husband. A patio in the rear, a recreation center equipped with a stage, and "date parlors" were all special features of the times.
During World War II, the women were relocated to Austin and Monnett Halls as well as fraternity houses to make room for the V-5 Navy men on campus. Currently it again houses both men and women students.
From National Register report (1985):
Student enrollment had reached nearly 2,000 by 1925, at which time the University received a $1 million endowment for construction of yet another women's dormitory, Stuyvesant Hall. (A dormitory for men was also envisioned, but plans were cut short by the Depression.) Completed in 1931, Stuyvesant provided space for 255 freshmen women, eliminating the need for a freshmen cottage system at Ohio Wesleyan. Built in the Georgian Revival style, the dormitory was located on property acquired by the University and situated between the Monnett and main campuses. The building was placed dramatically on a terraced hillside overlooking a picturesque glen.