| Click on image titles for larger views. || |
The present Nichols College Chapel was constructed in 1883 as the Conant Library and Observatory. It was built by Hezekiah Conant after he completed the Academy Hall. The architectural firm was Elbridge Boyden and Son of Worcester, Massachusetts, also the architects of Academy Hall and later Conant Hall. Conant remarked in 1887 that the library and astronomical observatory contained 2000 volumes, two telescopes, and had telegraphic communications with the world via Western Union lines.
Referred to as unique in "function and appearance" in a report by the Massachusetts Historical Commission, this structure features two towers and a half-round observatory roof which can be opened for astronomical observation. Its architecture has elements of the Stick style, it is one and one-half stories, and it serves as an important landmark on Dudley Hill. Conant intended that its facilities and resources would be available to the Academy scholars and the people of the community.